The Real Film 2013

I know this is my writing blog but it’s my only blog at the mo’ and I do want to share these with you. I see most of my movies on DVD these days, only venturing out for what I’m sure will be a big blockbuster and therefore worth the extortionate ticket price. The movies I did see at the pictures this past year were Les Miserables, which had me in tears all the way through (I started sobbing when Fantine popped her sabots and didn’t stop!) and Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World, which I enjoyed immensely, no doubt on account of Messrs. Downey and Hiddleston.

If I could pick two movies that, on reflection, I should have gone to see on the big screen, it would have been Beasts of The Southern Wild, which was just wonderful and Cloud Atlas – I had read the book and was overjoyed to see it brought to life by the Wachowskis and am looking forward to Jupiter Ascending next year, even though it’s protagonist is a toilet cleaner like my own Jude.

The best of the rest –

Your Sister’s Sister – quirky and a bit unsure of itself but stick with it as it turns out well. Emily Blunt is excellent.

California Solo – nice to see Bobby Carlyle in a great wee film about a down-on-his-luck musician.

Melancholia – I know Lars Von Trier is a tool but this was a really well crafted film with great performances by Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg.

Rust And Bone – A gritty and topical story with the always excellent Marion Cotillard as an injured orca trainer.

The Sessions – one of my favourite films of the year with the fantastic Helen Hunt as a sexual surrogate for the also tremendous John Hawkes. A really lovely piece of film-making.

Sightseers – The funniest and most outrageous film imaginable about the misadventures of a couple in their caravan. If you haven’t seen it, treat yourself. I promise – you will laugh out loud.

Searching For Sugarman – just brilliant – a documentary but don’t let that put you off. And the music is sublime.

Skyfall – I have never been a Bond fan but this was very good and I went back and watched the other two. Daniel Craig IS James Bond.

There were a few films that I had wanted to see but were ultimately disappointing – Looper (couldn’t get past Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s face made up to resemble Bruce Willis and the ending was a bit meh), Flight (again, not as good as I had hoped – my notes said “he was a c*nt”) and A Royal Affair (very well done and nice to look at but far too worthy for its own good).

Three films I would advise you to avoid like the plague are Berberian Sound Studio (unless you are into Italian Horror of the 70s, this will make no sense to you whatsoever), Killer Joe (an interesting turn from Matthew McConaughey but ultimately horrible) and The Hobbit (I gave up after 15 minutes – too many dwarves!).

And my absolute DO NOT SEE is the slimy,misogynistic Seven Psychopaths, which was just nasty.

My festive viewing includes Now You See Me, Robot and Frank, World War Z and Joss Whedon’s take on Much Ado About Nothing, all of which I am looking forward to.

In 2014 I’m keen to see Only Lovers Left Alive (for obvious Hiddleston-ey reasons), Nymphomaniac (another Lars Von Triers), The Dallas Buyers Club, Prisoners, The Mortal instruments; City of Bones (for Robert Sheeran reasons and also I am reading the books, which are very good), Camille Claudel 1915 (I cannot resist Juliette Binoche), The Way Way Back, Pacific Rim, Blue Is The Warmest Colour, Nebraska, The Past and Inside Llewyn Davies. And that’s just for starters.

Now, back to my writing…

One thought on “The Real Film 2013

Leave a Reply

